Finding My Zen

On Sunday I went to my first pre-natal yoga class of this pregnancy.  The day before I had read an article in Time Magazine about how stress during pregnancy can actually cause problems for your child later in life, and can really affect the way they, in turn, handle stressful situations as they get older.  Of course it doesn’t help that I’m bringing my child into the world while living in New York City, the city that never sleeps, never stops, and never has any patience for anything.  And living in this city during this pregnancy, I have been experiencing a lot of stress lately:  Pelvic pain, subchorionic bleeds, medical insurance stress, business start-up stress…ah!  Makes me tired just writing about it.   I have not exactly been a vision of serenity during this pregnancy so far, so I thought I better start doing some yoga…stat!  I don’t want my child to become one of those adults who loses it in Starbucks every time they have to wait an extra five minutes for their latte.  Life is just too short for that kind of madness.

Yoga is amazing because it forces you to focus on something other than your problems for an hour and a half.  And I always think, “Why should I pay $18 per class when I already know how to do all the basic yoga poses?  I’ll just do them at home.”  But either  a.) that never happens or b.) I try to make it happen, but I’m still at home, so I’m still surrounded by the things that remind me of why I am stressed out in the first place.  So for that reason I think the $18 is well worth it to leave your comfort zone, and enter a world where your problems have no place, and the place has no problems.  Even going once a week is sometimes enough to get you through those next 7 days without feeling like your nerves are about to fry what’s left of your sanity.

So right now I’m riding on the high of my one yoga class, and can now say:  Even though I only get to work one day this week (normally it’s two, which is difficult enough to cram everything in, but this week I have to interview new doctors…did I mention I have that stress too?  Switching doctors at 16 weeks is not a fun process, and not helping my ever-rising stress levels); and I still have a subchorionic bleed (read my blog from a couple of weeks ago for more info on that lovely subject); and I am, at the moment, doctor-less, I am trying to keep it all in perspective.  Trying to keep the faith that it will all work out in the end, because that’s what my mommy always told me.  Trying to find my zen, and I am getting there, but I don’t think I’ve found it quite yet.  But for my unborn baby’s sake, I better get crackin’, because I don’t want him or her to end up a total stress case like mom.

Leave a Reply

