9 Month Marathon…Continued

I am going to continue to write about the aches and pains of being pregnant, with the hope that other pregnant women and mothers out there can relate to what I am talking about.  Because it is my theory that as much as we like to glamorize and idealize the 9/10 months of pregnancy, it isn’t always sunshine and rainbows for all of us.

I mentioned in a previous article that I am already sick of being pregnant, as my previous pregnancy left me with a lot of “leftover” pelvic pain.  And I have to say that four weeks later, at the proverbial 8th mile of my 9 month marathon, I still feel the same way.  I actually was feeling pretty good for a couple of weeks, and then I went on vacation.  Isn’t vacation supposed to make us feel revitalized and renewed?  Unfortunately it had the opposite effect on me – what ensued was both pain and illness at the same time – enough to make a pregnant woman go insane.    The pain resulted from sleeping in very small, very uncomfortable beds.  My husband, son, and I went to my parent’s cabin in the Catskills for the weekend, where my husband and I slept on a futon.  Now I’m sure there are some nice futons out there, but I can’t say that my parent’s is one of them.  I woke every morning with excruciating pelvic pain, to where the only way I could really function was to do all my physical therapy exercises and stretches to “wake up” my pelvis and get all the cobwebs out.   And it was then that I started showing the first signs of catching my son’s daycare-enduced cough.  Now a cough kind of sucks no matter when you get one, but when you are pregnant, and you suffer from an ever-expanding abdominal wall separation, every cough feels like you are parting the sea, so to say.  So now I am waking up in the morning in pelvic pain, trying to cough, and then feeling my pelvis actually pop from the cough, knowing that it is also creating an even deeper valley between the two sides of my abdominal wall…and I am about to lose it.

After returning from the Catskills, now I am in full blown cold/cough mode.  I liked to think I could control the cough with my mind…all yoga earthy-crunchy style.  I was going to keep myself from coughing just by sheer willpower.  Ha!  No such luck.  The more I tried controlling it, the more I would cough.  And two days after returning, my husband, son, and I decided to make a trip to Fire Island for a few days.  I was holding out hope that my cough would get better, and perhaps getting away would be good for me.  But unfortunately my cough just kept getting worse and worse, and sleeping two more nights in a small and unfamiliar bed did even more damage to my already sore pelvis.  So now again began the cycle of waking up, coughing, feeling my pelvis pop from the cough, trying to sit up, and then realizing that I can’t.  So I would lay back down, do about 20 minutes worth of pelvic exercises, and then finally I could get out of bed without wanting to punch my fist through the wall.

And on top of all of this, I have started to have major circulation issues in my legs.  I actually can’t stand still for more than 5 minutes at a time without being really uncomfortable.  It was starting to feel especially uncomfortable behind my right knee, so I took a peek back there and bam!  I have huge varicose veins forming back there.  Awesome.  So now, not only do I feel like crap, but I get to look like crap too??!  Yay!  What more could a pregnant gal-who-already-has-a-fragile-ego ask for?

Based on all of this, you would think I was 8 months pregnant.  But alas, I am not even five months pregnant.  19 weeks, and already I am feeling like I’m at the end of the third trimester.  What is up with that?? Does this mean I am going to be completely bed-ridden by the 9 month?  I certainly hope not.  I am a girl who used to work out religiously 3-5 days a week, and now I can’t even stand still without being in pain.  So perhaps you can understand my frustration.

I don’t write any of this to be a complainer.  I realize that this is the hand I was dealt, and am trying to deal with it the best way I can…one day at a time.  But I am hoping that other women will read this and either feel better about their own pregnancies, or take comfort that other women out there are going through the same thing.  Being pregnant is no joke.  It is such a miracle, and such an amazing endeavor, but it is no joke.  And I don’t think enough women realize this before committing their bodies to the act of creating children.  I am still excited to be pregnant…just really scared of what is to come.  And I hope and pray that this is as bad as it gets.

Leave a Reply

