And then there were two…

It is hard to believe that I am now the mother of two children.  How did that happen?  I mean, I know how it happened. I was the eager participant  in many a sex ed class throughout my formative years, after all.  But how did I get to be so OLD??

Life starts moving faster than a freight train after the age of 22.  It’s like mother nature’s way of saying, “Ha ha!  You’re an adult, so now I am going to make sure the road to wrinkles and unimaginable responsibility comes at you as fast as humanly possible!”  Somehow I blinked and went from 22 to 32 without knowing where in the hell those ten years went.  But I think it went something like this:

Graduated college, moved to California, met the love of my life, moved back East, got engaged, got married, bought an apartment, got a dog, got pregnant, had a baby, stopped working, started a business, got pregnant again, had another baby, and phew…I am tired.  Participating in the acceleration of my own life has been exhausting!

And I truly love being a mother, but boy, is it tiring.  Anyone who says it isn’t hard work is either lying or lazy or both.  My toddler son runs around like a maniac for 12 hours a day, and then when he finally goes to sleep, we are up with our newborn baby for another 3-4 hours after that.  By the time she goes to bed that leaves my husband and I with approximately thirty minutes of alone time before we go to sleep…or at least hope to sleep…for a few hours…until the newborn wakes us up with her incessant need to eat. Man, the nerve!  And even as I write this, it has taken me three shots at the computer before getting this article published, one of which involved typing with a baby on my lap, since there is always a little one needing my time and attention.

How people handle more than two kids is beyond me.  I would like to have a third someday, but quite honestly I’m not sure how I would do it.  What happens to that third kid, anyway?  Kid #1 is the firstborn, so of course they think that they rule the roost (which they kind of do) and consequently dominate all your time.  Kid #2 just sits around and  hopes someone will pay attention to him or her once Kid #1 stops monopolizing every last ounce of energy the parents have.  So where does that leave Kid #3?  S.O.L., that’s where.  That kid will be giving themselves a bottle at 3 days old and watching The View at 5 days old, just so that mama can have five minutes to eat a sandwich and go to the bathroom.

And what about those crazy families out in the midwest with 16 plus kids??  How do they do it, you ask?  They get a reality show, that’s how.  And they use the money to pay for someone else to raise their abnormally large brood.

For now, I am happy with two.  That is, until I forget the pain and agony of pregnancy and childbirth, and get the itch to have another.  And when you’re a mom that happens faster than you think, since all of your brain cells are dedicated to the care of someone else.  What’s my name again?

One thought on “And then there were two…

Leave a Reply

